Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Obey Those in Authority - Significance of 4:59

Offline Reader Questions

• View Profile
Obey Those in Authority - Significance of 4:59
« on: May 25, 2012, 01:51:41 AM »
Salaam

I was brought to your website by a friend. I am a believer in the Quran as the divine message from God. However I have some doubts regarding the hadith.

I hope I have come to the right place.

I have read your work with interest, but as a trained scientist I must be able to criticize and still be able to form a strong belief, as a very strong test to a belief is questioning it and breaking it down.

In An Nisa 59, obey the Messenger and those in authority seems to imply even those who do not believe in the same as we do. And by referring to the messenger, we depend on the messenger's law.  Followed by An Nisa 60, who does "the people who assert that they believe in what has been revealed to you and what was revealed before you" include? Does that include myself as well?

Thank you for your work.

I only wish to learn, as I am not an Arabic reader nor speaker.

Offline Joseph Islam

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • The Quran and its Message
Re: Obey Those in Authority - Significance of 4:59
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2012, 01:52:56 AM »
Salamun Alaikum.

Truth has no reason to hide or fear. If something cannot stand vigorous, sustained scrutiny, then it is most likely not the truth. Therefore, I absolutely concur with your sentiment and the approach you suggest.

4:59 has a primary context and a specific audience. 'Those who believe' were those that had come to agree on a common truth - that of the veracity of the Quran and of Prophet Muhammad's messengership.