Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Whether or Not to Accept Hadith and Reading the Quran

Offline Reader Questions

• View Profile
Whether or Not to Accept Hadith and Reading the Quran
« on: November 22, 2013, 03:31:22 AM »
Assalam aleykum Mr. Joseph Islam,

With great interest I read your website. I converted two years ago to Islam. I studied enough Arabic to read Qur'an, but I do not have a clear position on whether to accept hadith or not.

A general question, what is in your perspective the best way to achieve inner peace? Is reading Qur'an in Arabic a cure for stress and anxiety, or additional prayers?

Converting to islam caused a lot of problems for me, it is a very difficult process.

I hope to hear from you.

With best regards,

Offline Joseph Islam

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • The Quran and its Message
Re: Whether or Not to Accept Hadith and Reading the Quran
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 03:42:07 AM »
Wa alaikum assalam

Thank you for your kind feedback. I guess the pivotal question is whether the Quran assigns ‘religious authority’ to any other source apart from itself. Of course, the Ahadith corpus is replete with wisdom of a people and thoughts which one may find questionable. However, the question of ‘authority’ is more pertinent than the question of ‘authenticity’ as I trust you will appreciate.

I have always believed that inner sentiments are best expressed in a language one best understands, preferably native. In my humble opinion, this also finds support from the Quran [1]. If an understanding or fluency of Arabic is one’s forte, then indeed its recitation will touch their heart as they will find God speaking with them directly iA. Otherwise, I would personally recommend the reading of the Quran in a language one best understands unless its Arabic recital incantantion spiritually moves one towards general remembrance of God.